top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

[Book Review] Bad Habit Rabbit, [Author] Carli Valentine




A wonderful story which will teach children about the value of perseverance, especially when confronted with difficult moments or challenges. The main character – Fluff Bum – is a delightful little bunny, who has the biggest dream in the world, becoming the Official Easter Bunny. My daughter absolutely loved this story, especially since her new favorite toy is actually a plush bunny. With beautiful illustrations done by the author herself and helpful tips on how to help your little ones fight bad habits, this book represents the perfect choice for Easter!


My opinion:


As the mother of a six-year-old, I am always on the lookout for books that hold a wonderful story inside, preferably one which also has valuable lessons to offer. When I came across this particular book, I was so excited! A bunny who dreams of becoming the Official Easter Bunny? A prefer for Easter egg chocolates? Count me in! I read this story to my little bookworm, and she absolutely loved it. What a great idea to have a bunny that actually has a bad habit, nibbling on the children’s Easter egg chocolates. Now, if you want to learn how he overcame this habit, you will have to read the book to find out!


All I can say is that I found the story to be absolutely delightful and just perfect for the Easter season. I think our little ones need story like this one, as they are facing a lot of challenges as little humans and might often be tempted to give up on their dreams. I see my daughter needing guidance in this area and we often resort to books in order to gain a bit more confidence. I applaud the author for managing to take a serious topic and wrap it in a delightful story, accompanied by wonderful illustrations. In the end, as parents, we want our kids to feel empowered and work towards achieving everything they want for themselves.


The temptation of tasting all the chocolate is something I think all kids will relate to, adults too! I loved that the bunny relies on the advice of his grandfather, this is a subtle way to highlight the importance of family, of children being raised by a village and not just the parents. The character Fluffy Bum is just delightful, and what a cute name, perfect for this lovely story. As for the bad habits, we must remember that no one is perfect, so we need to guide our kids in the right direction. With stories like this one, we can help them discover the value of practical goals, learning a thing or two ourselves.


Verdict:


If you are looking for a last-minute Easter gift, you have found it! This book is amazing, with so many wonderful lessons to be learned. We loved following Fluffy Bum in his adventures, enjoying the beautiful illustrations. I would be as bold as to say that this story appeals to both children and adults, as we all deal with bad habits, but we have a way to overcome them, as the author clearly points out. All in all, it was a fun book to read, and we definitely fell in love with the bunny. Spoiler alert, after reading this book, you might crave some chocolate yourself. Preferably an Easter chocolate egg!



37 views0 comments
bottom of page