top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

[Book Review] Celebrating Chinese New Year, [Author] Eugenia Chu




A wonderful book to teach young readers about the customs and traditions associated with the Chinese New Year. I welcomed this book in our homes with open arms, as I love books that can help me show my daughter how beautifully-diverse her world is. We had so much fun reading it and I believe other kids will enjoy it just as much.


My thoughts:


We are lucky to live in a day and age where other cultures are so accessible, especially since there is so much information about each of them available. The book written by Eugenia Chu was a great read, enjoyed equally by myself and my daughter. We learned about the festive traditions associated with the Chinese New Year. Did you know it is also called the Spring Festival or Lunar New Year? I certainly didn’t!


I loved how the book offered a wealth of interesting information on the history and folklore of the Chinese culture. The Chinese New Year is one of the most celebrated holidays around the world and, like any other major event, it comes with its own traditions. The author included some fun activities to keep children engaged, and it was so fun to see diverse traditions presented through a cool combination of storytelling and colorful illustrations. From festivals and parades, to food and cooking, this is the kind of book that will stay close to your heart.


Even though my daughter is only four, she thoroughly enjoyed the book. Now, we have plans to make Chinese dumplings and, of course, a paper lantern. For me, as a parent, this book offered the added value of education. We are responsible for the way our children perceive the world and we need books like this one to teach them about diversity and traditions. We have the opportunity to show them how each culture celebrates major occasions, and even use the reading time to talk about similarities between various cultures.


Verdict:


We loved this book! From the yummy dumpling recipe to the traditions associated with the Chinese New Year, we nestled comfortably between the pages, forgetting the passing of time. This book is great for kids and adults alike, it’s fun and educational, and it reminded me that all cultures have a thing in common: the joy of living! I especially loved the suggestion we should declutter before the holiday, so we can throw out the bad luck, and make room for the good luck.


Grab your copy from here!


12 views0 comments
bottom of page