top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

[Book Review] Holy Quests: An Eye-Opener, [Author] Andreas Economou




Christianity’s future (and theirs) hung in the balance. Mindful of the stakes, Cardinal Anglic de Grimoard opened the door with unease. It creaked. Beads of sweat dotted his brow, and not because of the heat.


The second book in the Religious Crusades – Knights Templar series offers the reading adventure of a lifetime. As in the first book, Andreas Economou blends facts with fiction, drawing the reader into a story that has everything. Adventure, intrigue, religion, prophecies… you are in for a real treat!


My thoughts:


A new Gospel threatens the Vatican’s existence. I was hooked from the first line in the blurb, especially since I had read the first book in the series, which I thoroughly enjoyed. In writing this review, I am staying away from specific details, as I do not want to spoil the reading experience for you.


So, I am going to include the things that drew me to the story. The first would be the thorough research, which adds richness to the narrative, very much like a good buttercream does to a cake. You can tell that the author poured his heart and soul into this second installment, using his God-given talent to blend facts with fiction to perfection. I love that he focused his books on the religious crusades and the Knights Templar, finding a unique to transform history into a story worth reading.


In this second book, I was especially drawn to the characters of Yeshua and Pierre. These are as different as night and day, each with their own journey in life. It was incredible to follow the parallel stories, each as rich in detail as the other. God is the common element throughout the book, with a clear denomination to the ever-failing nature of humans. As the author describes it, “one defeats His demons, the other is bested by them”.


The author brings the legacy of his native Cyprus into the story, recounting the story of Pierre de Lusignan, who was the King of Cyprus and titular King of Jerusalem. While in pursuit of a long-lost gospel, an opportunity to subdue papacy will present to him. Will be able to secure it? And what will happen in the end? I might have already given too much away, but I encourage you to read the book and find out.


Verdict:


What an amazing story! I absolutely loved it, as it offered such an immersive reading experience. Nestled comfortably between the pages of this amazing book, I traveled back in time, joining the valiant young king in his adventures. With a refined creative talent and thorough research, the author unassumingly takes the reader on a wonderful journey of discovery. Glad I came across his books!


Grab your copy of the book from here!



22 views0 comments
bottom of page