top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

[Book Review] Perspective Detective, [Author] Cazzy Zahursky






A wonderful book which brings together many of the things kids adore – mysteries, detective work, optical illusions… but also important lessons for them to learn and remember. With illustrations done by the author herself, the story is interactive and entertaining, offering a delightful reading experience overall.


My thoughts:


With a five-year-old at home, I am always on the lookout for books that can surprise her. I was drawn to the title from the start, I my daughter loves detective stories. “Perspective Detective” was enjoyed by the both of us! The rhymes were spot on, the mystery easy to follow, yet entertaining, and I really loved the lessons the author sprinkled throughout her story. I think books like this one could help children not to judge a situation or person, until they have looked or analyzed what happened from all angles.


My little girl was eager to solve the mystery of the lost Teddy and she gladly joined the adventure. She was drawn to the optical illusions the author cleverly packed in the story, finding them entertaining, to say the least. The big plus of the story is the “easiness” with which the author introduces young bookworms to important themes, such as open communication, empathy, and problem solving. The story also delivers a lot of fun, with colorful illustrations that draw the attention of our little ones. I loved the combination of optical illusions and puzzles, feeling like a kid all over again.


This story represents the perfect addition to any home library, but it could also be used in the classroom to spark discussions on how we each see things differently and that is perfectly alright. It helps children understand that other people might have a different perspective or point of view, and we should never judge them, but rather try to put ourselves in their place. My daughter enjoyed the story quite a lot, and we read it several times, so we could pay more attention to the optical illusions and puzzles, as well as the clever rhymes.


Verdict:


What a great story! I loved everything about this fun, rhyming mystery, and so did my daughter. I also found it amazing that the author illustrated the story herself, how amazing is this? We enjoyed ourselves while following the story of the lost teddy bear, putting our brain to good use in trying to decipher the optical illusions and puzzles. The book is both fun and engaging, and as I said, it incorporates valuable lessons. Highly recommended!


Grab your copy from here!



4 views0 comments
bottom of page