top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

[Book Review] Where are My COLORS?, [Author] Rebecca Porter




A beautiful, emotional story about a butterfly, which teaches children how important it is to shine bright in their own skin (author’s words). The story was thoroughly enjoyed by my daughter, who was genuinely intrigued by the butterfly without colors.


My thoughts:


How many things our children have to learn! Without a doubt, self-confidence stands at the top of the list, and I am so happy when I come across stories that help my daughter feel comfortable with herself. We absolutely loved following the story of Lionel, the colorless insect, as he was unjustly judged by the other butterflies. In a world full of bright tones, he is the only one who has yet to find his colors!


Lionel is a gray, colorless butterfly, but I think this is what makes him such an adorable character. In his search for colors, he will encounter one messy situation after the next, guaranteed to enchant little bookworms. Perhaps the most important lesson that the story teaches is that we should never give up. I am not going to share any details about how Lionel’s adventures turn out, but I would like to give him a thumbs up, just for never abandoning his instincts. As the author cleverly puts it, he “could feel it in his antennas”.


As a parent, I am always on the lookout for stories that help my daughter grow into a healthy, well-adjusted adult. Rebecca Porter offers a gem of a story, showing children that it is possible to reach your dreams, all you need is a bit of confidence and just as much perseverance. With beautiful illustrations, done by the author herself, the story is one that kids will want to read over and over again. Never give up on yourself – such a wonderful lesson incorporated into a story that is worth every minute of your time.


Verdict:


We absolutely loved this book! Lionel is adorable and you cannot help but root for him, hoping that his adventures will turn out as expected. The illustrations are beautiful and compliment the story, and I think that this book will add a wonderful splash of color to any home or classroom library. If you have a chance, be sure to check out the other books written by this author, they are just as beautiful.


Grab your copy from here!


Book Mockup: Rebecca Porter (Author)

6 views0 comments
bottom of page