top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

Why do I write?

Updated: Oct 1, 2022




I am sure this question has been answered by many. In putting words on paper, I return, over and over again, to the real me. Each word brings me closer to me core values, to the very foundation of my being. I write because it makes me feel good. As ink blends into the fibers of my snow-white paper, I take delight in the absolute certainty that my words are going to be read by someone else. People who have their own dreams and aspirations, for whom writing might be an outlet for releasing pent-up emotions, even if they just don't know it.


Whenever I feel like an impostor, I catch myself before going further down that road. Writing is a lonely profession and it often comes neatly packaged in self-doubt. My perspective is simple. If my words have reached at least one person, that is good enough for me. I am still learning so much about being a writer and my books are far from perfect, but you know what? I love what I do, and I love my imperfect self.


Ever since I was a kid, I found it difficult to give up on something once I started. Like someone once said to me, I am annoyingly perseverant. When it comes to writing, giving up is the easy way out. Even on your worst days, all you have to do is show up. Take a sheet of paper and pour out the words, one after the other. Sure, you might rewrite that initial draft hundreds of times, but writing them in the first place is what matters the most.


So there you have it. I write because it makes me happy. Or good as I said above. It is one of the most beautiful parts of who I am, and certainly the one that speaks to me the most. I would not be honest if I didn't admit that it's also, by far, one of the hardest things I had to do, lightyears away from my comfort zone.


As someone who has dealt with insecurity all her life, I am glad writing has become such an important part of who I am. Not because of the certainty that I mentioned earlier, but in view of another potential reasoning. It is the very first thing I chosen by and for myself. And it feels amazing to know I followed my heart to end up a writer. No nine-to-five for me, but plenty of writing during those hours, that I promise.


Here are some of my favorite quotes about writing, coming from writers who must have sucked in the beginning as well, but managed to overcome the impostor syndrome, producing amazing works in the end.


"Talent is cheaper than table salt. What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work." (Stephen King)


"It's none of their business that you have to learn how to write. Let them think you were born that way." (Ernest Hemingway)


"A writer is working when he's staring out the window." (Burton Rascoe)


"All good writing is swimming under water and holding your breath." (F. Scott Fitzgerald)


"Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on." (Louis L'Amour).



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page