top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

[Book Review] A Little Poetic, [Author] Teresa James




A beautiful collection of poetry which takes you into the creative universe of the talented Teresa James. I had already read her other book, The Heart of a Rose, and I was happy to discover more of her wonderful poems.


My thoughts:


Contemporary poetry is enticing, allowing us to derive both emotion and meaning from each verse. Teresa’s message to readers says everything about her work. The beauty of a poem is not in the length of the content… it’s in the power of the words.


The poems you will find in this collection are written with such passion that they will leave you breathless. Each poem delivers a lesson on life and what truly matters. Her words are heartfelt, offering an emotional reading experience.


I loved the diversity of themes she approaches in her poems, including love, lust, heartbreak, and healing. She speaks about the matters of the heart with genuine emotion. The preface poem is wonderful, revealing the true value of poetry and how much work goes into these works of art. Teresa does a great job in bringing forward lessons that resonate with our emotional side.


These were some of my favorite verses:


What do I see when I look

into your eyes, my love?

Intriguing depths of my own heart

do I see.


Oh my darling, you

are like the cherry

blossoms to me.

A sure sign, as the

first days of spring.


In darkness you are my light and my shadow in the day.

You’re my comfort in the storm – lips who keep me warm.


Many men seek the tranquility

of what rests in the soul of

mother nature’s fertility.


Verdict:


Teresa James is a talented poet, who has the ability to transmit vivid emotions through her words. Each poem in this book is intense in its own way, thought-provoking and emotional at the same time. The beautiful illustrations, depicting elegant silhouettes of women, add to the delight of the reading experience. Exuding mystery, they accompany the poems as faithful friends. A beautiful book, the kind you might want to read on a quiet afternoon, taking your time to reflect on the meaning of each verse.


Grab your copy from here!


9 views0 comments
bottom of page