top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

[Book Review] Oh Deer!, [Author] Brandi Smeltzer




A beautiful book which brings together several important themes, including human interaction with wildlife, separation anxiety, and the ever-lasting bond between mothers and children.


My thoughts:


With a four-year-old at home, I am always on the lookout for books that can help me teach her about the world and how we should handle various situations. I was so happy to come across this lovely story and let me tell you, it quickly became a favorite in our house.


I am sure this has happened to some of you, you’ve found a baby animal without its mother and you felt the need to do something, even though you were not sure what. In this story, Brooklyn – an adorable girl who is afraid of storms and especially of thunder – spots a white-tailed fawn from her window. I loved how the author presented Brooklyn’s hesitance, making us feel like we were right there in the story. With thunderstorm looming in the distance, the little girl had to make an important decision: should she intervene or allow nature to run its course?


Stories have been used since the ancient of times to help children understand how the world works. And here we have a story that reminds us of how powerful storytelling actually is, a story which teaches children about the proper interaction with wild animals. On the plus side, the story is entertaining and engaging, the kind that children will not forget, but rather want to read, over and over again.


I am sure other young readers will be excited to read this story, curious to find out what happens to the young deer. I loved that it was based on a true story and I found the fun facts about fawns to be the perfect addition to the story. Do you know what to do if you spot a fawn alone? I certainly didn’t, and I was happy to receive useful advice in this area.


This was one interesting read, with an obvious educational value. My daughter was curious to see how the story turns out, and her first instinct was to follow Brooklyn’s desire to help the fawn. She engaged in the story with genuine pleasure and I could see that she loved the charming, colorful illustrations.


As an adult in disguise, as I like to joke, I loved the story just as much. It was so well-written, with an important message about the interaction with wildlife, and bonus fun facts at the end of the book. The language was easy enough for my daughter to understand and she was able to follow the storyline without difficulties. I think this is a good story for early readers, either at home or in the classroom setting. It teaches them about deer and how we should protect them in their natural habitat, taking the right measures to ensure their safety.


I couldn’t help but notice the other important theme approached by the author in her book, the ever-lasting bond between a mother and her child. My daughter and I enjoyed the closeness this story offered, and it being based on a true story only made it even more special. Not only does the book gives young readers a feeling of serenity, but it helps them understand that, in emotional and potentially-dangerous situations, the best thing we can do is take rational decisions.


Verdict:


All in all, the book teaches children they need to show both empathy and concern for animals. At the same time, it offers the important lesson of patience, rather than jumping into a situation that can be dangerous. I enjoyed the parallel between the mother and child, and the deer with her fawn. All beings feel safe near their mothers. The little girl felt safe inside her home with her mother, no longer thinking about the thunderstorm. I think it might also help children who suffer from separation anxiety, helping them understand that mothers are always watching and care for them, even when they are not around.


Grab your copy of the book from here!


33 views0 comments
bottom of page