top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

38




I am older and wiser. When I look in the mirror, I find it hard to believe that I am 38. I feel anything but mature, yet I cannot deny having gained some wisdom with the passing of time. Much to my surprise, it has nothing to do with what I thought this age would offer. I am writing this to remind myself of what I've learned so far, in case I ever forget, caught in the dizzying whirlpool called daily life.


Excuse me for sounding like an old bore, but nothing matters more than having your health. I could be more philosophic, but the bottomline is the same. Health is a precious commodity, learn to work for it. All the cliches you've heard are valid. Eat well, sleep enough, move your body. Now for the next part. My number one lesson to learn was and still is gratitude. I have so much to be thankful for, yet I am pining for more. I am learning to slow down and enjoy everything for a minute more.


Let me tell you about my favorite things. A cup of lemon tea, first hour of the morning, with the steam fogging my glasses. The voice of Dean Martin on vinyl. My daughter laughing at something funny. The sound of the key turning in the lock, as I know that my husband has come come. A new book, smelling scrumptiously of ink and fresh promises. The quiet of the night, as I look at my husband and daughter, my little family.


Gratitude is simple, as long as we stop chasing for the never-to-attain perfection. It goes hand-in-hand with another valuable lsson, the one of living in the moment. We are so busy thinking of the future, that we forget the present is all we have. There is so much richness in savoring today, in sharing your life with the people you love, never forgetting to tell them how you feel.


As for those imperfect moments, you might be in a hurry to leave them behind, but these have their value too. They arrive to show you what truly matters and you'd be a fool not to pay attention to the lessons they bring. My bit of wisdom now on paper, I congratulate myself for another turn around the sun. Two more years and I will be 40, and I have a feeling that my sould will hang heavier, but not with sorrow. It will carry the comfort of a life well-lived, simple and small, yet valuable.


I will end my rant with a quote from "Anne of Avonlea", the third book in the beloved "Anne of Green Gables" series. It's an anti-quote actually, as I firmly believe that the world still bears the same vibrant color of romance.


I've tried the world - it wears no more

The coloring of romance it wore.


Happy 38!

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page