top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

My favorite books of 2022!



Hard to believe that the first month of 2023 is already over, but then again January always seem to last an eternity. I have taken these first few weeks of the year to think about my favorite books of 2022, and I think these reflect exactly the things I am looking for, not only within the pages of each tome, but also in real life. My goal for this year? As always, to discover books that leave me with a feeling of comfort and peace, the two ultimate gifts of reading.


1. Violeta (Isabel Allende)



Imagine what it would be like to live for one hundred years and witness the world change in the most inconceivable ways. Isabel Allende has spun this story with refinement, touching upon important themes, including the dreaded corona pandemic. A strong point for me was the fight for women's rights. After reading this book, I was left wondering - how would my life look like if I were to reach this age? An interesting question for all of us, I think!


Quote:


“The reality is that everyone is responsible for their own life. We’re dealt certain cards at birth, and we play our hand; some of us lose, but others may play skillfully from the same bad hand and triumph. Our cards determine who we are: age, gender, race, family, nationality, etc., and we can’t change them, only play them to the best of our abilities. The game is marked by challenges and chances, strategizing and cheating.”


2. The Island of Missing Trees (Elif Shafak)



Elif Shafak is one of my favorite writers and her new book was one of the highlights in my reading journey of 2022. Written flawlessly, it speaks of what matters to the author, something we should all be passionate about, meaning equality and peace. I absolutely loved the metaphor of the fig tree and how the author spoke of the emigrant life, with us carrying a piece of our home wherever we go. Our homeland is part of our identity, no matter where we might find ourselves.


Quote:


“I still carry the island with me, though. The places where we were born are the shape of our lives, even when we are away from them. Especially then. Now and again in my sleep I find myself in Nicosia, standing under a familiar sun, my shadow falling against the rocks, reaching towards the prickly broom bushes that burst with blossoms, each as perfect and as bright as the golden coins in a children’s fable.”


3. Babel (R.F. Kuang)




I am not going to lie, Babel was a heavy read and my first book falling under the dark academia genre. It impressed me with the detailed research and all the Oxford references, but most importantly, with the originality of the subject. I have always loved books about librarians, yet Babel surprised me, it took the topic of language and the written word to whole new levels. It was one of the most sophisticated books I have ever read and one that left me the most confused, as I realized that there are so many things I have yet to learn. Good title by the way!


Quote:


“That's just what translation is, I think. That's all speaking is. Listening to the other and trying to see past your own biases to glimpse what they're trying to say. Showing yourself to the world, and hoping someone else understands.”


4. Daughter of the Moon Goddess (Sue Lynn Tan)



When I first came across this book, I read an article about the author, where the spoke of her father and how he used to read stories to her as a child. How wonderful to be able to take a famous legend and put your spin on it. This book fascinated me, not only with the unique world that the author created, but also with characters that seemed so alive. Epic and romantic at the same time, it represents the perfect introduction to ancient Chinese mythology. I encourage you to give it a try, continuing your reading adventure with the second book in the series, "Heart of the Sun Warrior".


Quote:


“I had always thought life was a road, twisting and turning with the vagaries of fate. Luck and opportunity, gifts beyond our control. As I gazed across the endless night, it dawned on me then, that our paths were forged from the choices we made. Whether to reach for an opportunity or to let it pass by. To be swept up with changed or to hold your ground.”


5. Six Crimson Cranes (Elizabeth Lim)



As a native Romanian, I grew up with stories inspired from traditional folklore. When I come across stories that are inspired from the folklore of a culture that is visibly different from mine, I am excited. This story truly brought it all together... a princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and a curse that cannot be broken. I read this book almost without breathing and I was fascinated with the way it unfolded. If you still love stories as an adult, give this a try. It is also part of a duology, so be sure to read "The Dragon's Promise" as well.


Quote:


“Learn from my mistakes, [...] and learn from my joys. Surround yourself with those who'll love you always, through your mistakes and your faults. Make a family that will find you more beautiful every day, even when your hair is white with age. Be the light that makes someone's lantern shine.”


I read many books in 2022. For the first time in my life, I did not keep them, but rather made room for new books in my home library. Whenever I selected the books to give away, I looked at each book, trying to decide whether I would read it again or not. These five books were at the top of my list and this is the main reason I wanted to share them with you. I hope 2023 will bring me just as many beautiful books and that reading will continue to be my sustenance during both good and bad times. Happy reading, bookworms!








38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

38

bottom of page