top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

[Book Review] Adventures at Almosta Farm, [Author] Heather N. Quinn



The second book in the “My Country Cousins” series did not disappoint at all! In fact, it was such a wonderful read, bringing me back to childhood days, when everything was simple and carefree. Gemma is enjoying herself at Almosta Farm, loving the animals, such as the goat and chickens. The city girl will have a bit of trouble with… turkeys!


My opinion:


I was so excited to read the second book in the series! My daughter savored every bit, falling in love with Gemma and her adventures. For me, it felt like I was returning to the summers spent at my grandparents, a wave of nostalgia enveloping me with its bittersweet aroma. Working together with her cousins, Gemma will discover the value of friendship, gathering wonderful memories to treasure in her heart forever.


The book was so fun and sweet, filled with childhood adventures, with an ideal setting, a farm filled with animals. Even though readers might be drawn to the captivating adventures, there are plenty of lessons sprinkled in-between, so that a bit of growth is guaranteed as well. The characters, both main and secondary, are relatable, dealing with experiences we all have gone through. I love how they overcame various challenges, savoring the resulting triumph, and becoming even more relatable in the process.


As the story focuses on family and friendship, it was tremendously enjoyed by my daughter. She is still young, so I read the story to her, but I appreciate the word count at the end of each chapter. As with the first book in the series, this is a great way to get kids excited about the progress made, increasing the chances of them reading the entire book. The story is accompanied by wonderful sketches and illustrations, which bring everything to life. There is also a delicious pie recipe mentioned in the book, which is available on the author’s website.


Verdict:


We absolutely loved Gemma’s adventures at Almosta Farm! It felt like a beautiful return to childhood fun, while my daughter become more curious about farm life. From the countless farm animals adding to the fun to the bicycle rides through sunflower fields, this story is an utter delight. There are wonderful lessons on friendship and growing up included, and plenty of interesting words for young readers to enrich their vocabulary. We can’t wait to dive into the third book of the series!



2 views0 comments
bottom of page