top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

[Book Review] Sue from Class Two has a Problem with Poo, [Author] Victoria Smith



With illustrations by Dr. JJ Smith


Leave it to one of our favorite authors to write a book that touches upon such a delicate topic! As usual, I am always in favor of those who use humor to explore topics that are relevant and so difficult for children. I read this book to my daughter, and she found it hilarious, but at the same time she recognized that she has dealt with such issues herself. So many children struggle with this problem, dealing with constipation, among other things. I applaud the author for having the courage to put herself out there and speak about… poo!


My opinion:



My daughter is one of the many children who feel nervous when it comes to using the toilet away from home, especially when it comes to number two. While I found this book to be hilarious, with spot-on rhymes, I also felt relieved that someone finally thought to approach this topic. We might not even realize, as parents, with how much anxiety our children are dealing with. Thanks to this story, we can explore this difficult topic together and find a way to embrace our needs as they are.


Aside from the story, the book offers excellent practical tips to encourage the use of school toilets. This is brilliant, in my opinion, as kids still have a long way to go until they can handle certain matters on their own. Faced with some of the problems Sue is dealing with, they might avoid using the toilet, which in turn will affect their health. While I agree that it is not comfortable to talk about toilet habits, I also believe that such topics must be discussed, no matter what. Thank you, Sue from Class Two, for offering a brilliant what-could-happen perspective!


As I am not one for spoilers, I will not give the ending away. However, I can guarantee that you will love how the story ends, without a doubt, it is one of the best endings I have ever come across. I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the cool illustrations, which my daughter enjoyed quite a lot, especially the one with the skunk tail. Children seem to love books about poo, don’t ask me why, and I believe the topic of using the toilet at school is a great choice. Sue will help so many children, without even realizing it!


Summary:


We absolutely loved this book! My daughter found it hilarious and so did I, but we also used the opportunity to talk about going to the toilet whenever the need occurs, no matter where we are. Hopefully, this will help her use the toilet at kindergarten, or at least try. We have gone over the advice included in the book and I think she already feels better about it. The author has included practical tips from ERIC, the Children’s Bowel & Bladder Charity, which were quite amazing. In addition, you can find a poo checker and a wee checker, both of which can offer indication of one’s health. Brilliant book overall!



60 views0 comments
bottom of page