top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Antipa

[Book Review] The Gilded Cage on the Bosphorus, [Author] AyÅŸe OsmanoÄŸlu




A book that offers a fascinating glimpse into the Ottoman Empire, written by AyÅŸe OsmanoÄŸlu, an author who is also a member of the Imperial Ottoman Family.


My thoughts:


Let me start by telling you that I love Turkish writers. Orhan Pamuk has made me fall in love with the rich beauty of Istanbul, while Elif Shafak helped me get better acquainted with Sufism. She introduced me to Rumi, and I will always feel grateful to her for that. When I came across this wonderful book, I was immediately intrigued. I read the description on the back and I knew this would become one of my all-time favorite books.


There were so many things I loved about the book:


- Rich descriptions of Imperial life – it was interesting to read about the different traditions, such as the processing of the cradle, which was done for new babies born in the Imperial Ottoman family

- Intrigue & conflict – I think the author wanted to show that the frailty of an empire is often accentuated from the inside. At the same time, we had the opportunity to realize the members of the Imperial Family were mere humans, with flaws and weaknesses. They made mistakes but their position rarely allowed for redemption, they were either punished on the spot or forced to live a life full of regret and guilt.

- Characters – I applaud the author for bringing them once again to life, I think this is the best way to tell history, through the people who actually got to live it.

- Detailed accounts of the clothes and foods from back then – they contributed to the exotic backdrop of the story, standing as proof that a lavish life might have seemed great from the outside but it brought little comfort to those living behind the heavily-guarded gates.

- History lesson – the book offers such a detailed account of the Imperial Family and life in captivity. As readers we are introduced to complex topics, explained through the characters, in a way that anyone can understand (threats on the Ottoman Empire, rising nationalism, emerging power blocks).


Verdict:


This is, without any doubt, one of the best books I have ever read. It is the kind of story that draws you in from the start. The author has a natural talent for writing and it was a pleasure to travel back in time, reading about the complex life and challenges of the Ottoman Imperial Family. Highly recommended!


Grab your copy of the book from here!



62 views1 comment
bottom of page